How Student Learning is Structured in Year 9

In Year 9 students commence their studies for Stage 5 of schooling which includes Years 9 and 10. A key feature of Stage 5 is inclusion of both compulsory subjects and elective subjects. At Inaburra we give students the opportunity to study three electives.  From Year 10 to Year 12 they will gain a Record of School Achievement (RoSA) from the New South Wales Educational Standards Authority (NESA).  Part of this record includes the studying of elective subjects across Years 9 and 10 which are assessed internally. Students will be given a grade for each subject studied in Year 10 and 11, as well as a mark for HSC subjects in Year 12.

Compulsory Subjects in Years 9 and 10

  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • History
  • Geography
  • PD/H/PE

All of these subjects are internally assessed. These assessments will provide information to teachers so that RoSA grades can be generated for each student. The elective subjects that students complete from the list below will also appear on the student’s RoSA.

Elective Subjects 

Each student in Year 9 will be allocated three subjects. Information on making wise choices of subjects is provided in the Choosing Elective Subjects video below which each student must watch before making their final selection. Please contact the Director of Curriculum, Ms Karis via email with any questions. Click on any of the video modules below to explore in more detail what each subject offers. For more information about a subject, please email the teacher by clicking on the email link provided in each subject module.

Information Videos

NESA Requirements + Inaburra Policies

Selection + Change of Mind Process

Making Decisions

Subject Selections